Keynotes Announced: 2013 Transitions of Care Conference


2013 1st Annual


Transitions of Care Conference



September 19 & 20, 2013 
|  InterContinental Hotel 

15201 Dallas Parkway, Dallas 75001







Eric A. Coleman, MD, MPH

 Professor of Medicine

 Director, Care Transitions Program

 University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus






Eric A. Coleman, Professor of Medicine and Head of the Division of Health Care
Policy and Research at the University of Colorado at Denver. Dr. Coleman is the Director of the
Care Transitions Program, aimed at improving quality and safety during times of care “handoffs”.
 Dr. Coleman’s bridges innovation and practice through: (1) enhancing the role of patients and
caregivers in improving the quality of their care transitions across acute and post-acute settings;
(2) measuring quality of care transitions from the perspective of patients and caregivers; (3)
implementing system-level practice improvement interventions and (4) using health information
technology to promote safe and effective care transitions.








Amy Boutwell, MD, MPP


Collaborative Healthcare Strategies








Amy Boutwell, M.D., M.P.P., founded Collaborative Healthcare Strategies to pursue work aligned with the opportunities created by the Affordable Care Act, the CMS Center for Innovation
and the Partnership for Patients, specifically with the goal of engaging thousands of communities across the nation to work across settings and sectors to improve healthcare delivery. With the creation of Collaborative Healthcare Strategies, Dr. Boutwell works
at the intersection of all best practices and approaches to improve care transitions, without exclusive adherence to one particular model – taking the best from what is known to be effective, practical and efficient in improving care transitions. Dr. Boutwell
is the co-founder of the STAAR (State Action on Avoidable Rehospitalizations) Initiative of the Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI).








Joseph G. Ouslander, MD

Project Manager











Joseph G. Ouslander, M.D., is
the interim Chair for the Integrated Medical Science Department, Senior Associate Dean for Geriatric Programs, and Professor of Clinical Biomedical Science in the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine at Florida Atlantic University. Dr. Ouslander is an internationally
recognized geriatrician. Dr. Ouslander received the 2012 Nascher/Manning Award from the AGS at the Annual Scientific Meeting in Seattle, Washington. He received this award for his distinguished career and life-long achievements in clinical geriatrics. Among
Dr. Ouslander’s many achievements and contributions in the field of geriatric medicine and care is the creation and dissemination of Interventions to Reduce Acute Care Transfers (INTERACT), a quality improvement program that assists long-term care facilities
and programs in improving care, and reducing unnecessary hospitalizations and their related complications and costs. Dr. Ouslander and co-director Ruth Tappen, Ed.D., R.N., Eminent Scholar in the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing have been awarded nearly
$5 million dollars in seven separate grants and contracts from various federal and private agencies including the National Institutes of Health and Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services to further develop, disseminate and evaluate the impact of INTERACT.





Current Sponsors:




Tel: (972) 256-2291


This entry was posted in Transitions of Care. Bookmark the permalink.
Posted on by headturningmedia